Meet the Organisers

Alan Wiener, Esq.

Co-Chair, Local Organizing Committee and Representative to Global Organizing Committee

​​Allison Alcasabas.jpgAlan Wiener is the Court ADR Resources Director at the Maryland Judiciary's Mediation and Conflict Resolution Office (MACRO), where his primary responsibility is to promote and support ADR programs in Maryland’s circuit courts. Alan consults with circuit courts and helps them utilize best practices to plan, implement, administer and improve ADR programs. 

​Deborah Thompson Eisenberg, Esq.

Co-Chair, Local Organizing Committee

​​Allison Alcasabas.jpgDeborah Thompson Eisenberg is an Professor of Law, Director of the Mediation Clinic, and Faculty Director of the Center for Dispute Resolution at the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. She writes and teaches in the areas of dispute resolution, employment law, and civil procedure. 

Show Bio

Toby Treem Guerin, Esq.

Treasurer, Local Organizing Committee

​​Allison Alcasabas.jpgToby Treem Guerin, J.D. is the Managing Director for the Center for Dispute Resolution at Maryland Carey School of Law and Clinical Instructor. Ms. Guerin has over fifteen years experience as a neutral in various venues including government agencies, non-profit organizations, schools, and court systems.

Show bio

Emmett J. Ward, MA

Liaison to Professional Conference Organizers

​​Allison Alcasabas.jpgEmmett J. Ward is an ADR Resources Coordinator for the Maryland Judiciary’s Mediation and Conflict Resolution Office (MACRO). In that capacity, he assists in managing a wide variety of projects, including ADRESS; a web-based data collection and reporting system, designed to help courts assess and improve the quality of their ADR processes.

Show Bio

Bryan J. Branon, Esq.

Social Media Representative

​​Allison Alcasabas.jpg

Show Bio

Geetha Ravindra

Allison Alcasabas.jpgGeetha Ravindra is an attorney, mediator and trainer with over 20 years of experience in the field of Alternative Dispute Resolution. She is currently the Mediator for the International Monetary Fund. 

Jonathan S. Rosenthal, Esq. 

Allison Alcasabas.jpgJonathan S. Rosenthal, Esquire, is the Director of the Maryland Judiciary's Mediation and Conflict Resolution Office (MACRO).  Jonathan guides MACRO toward achieving its mission of promoting the availability, appropriate use, and quality of alternative dispute resolution (ADR) throughout Maryland.  

Show Bio

Sarah P. “Sally” Campbell

Allison Alcasabas.jpgSarah P. “Sally” Campbell is the Dispute Resolution Services manager in the Office of the Executive Secretary (OES) at the Supreme Court of Virginia.  Before coming to OES, Sally practiced law; assisted in the development of a collaborative law practice group; served on VCU’s Institutional Review Board; and worked as an IT programmer at Dominion/Virginia Power. 

Show Bio

Mandy R. Sarkissian

Allison Alcasabas.jpgMandy R. Sarkissian is the ADR Analyst in the division of Dispute Resolution Services (DRS) of the Department of Judicial Services in the Office of the Executive Secretary at the Supreme Court of Virginia.  Before DRS, Mandy worked at the Community Mediation Center in Norfolk, VA.  

Show Bio

Debora W. Blevins

Allison Alcasabas.jpgDeborah Wood Blevins is the Managing Deputy Commissioner of the Virginia Workers Compensation Commission Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Department. Deputy Commissioner Blevins is Chair of the Joint ADR Committee of the Virginia State Bar/Virginia Bar Association and Co-chair of the Dispute Resolution Committee of the International Association of Industrial Accident Boards & Commissions (IAIABC).  

Show Bio

Cyril Coombs 

Allison Alcasabas.jpgCyril Coombs currently serves as Assistant General Counsel for Dominion Resources Services, Inc., a subsidiary of Dominion Energy, Inc., a fully integrated Fortune 500 energy company with a presence in the Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, Midwest and West regions of the U.S. He joined the Company in 1999 and is a member of the Company's Law Department, working in the Litigation, Labor & Employment Group and currently serves as the Law Department's Pro Bono Liaison.

Show Bio

Joanna Jacobs 

Allison Alcasabas.jpgJoanna Jacobs has practiced law in a wide variety of setting before rejoining the Department of Justice to head the Office of Dispute Resolution. After a clerkship on the D.C. Court of Appeals, Joanna joined the Department of Justice in the Criminal Division in Washington D.C. 

Show Bio

Melissa Stear Gorsline

Allison Alcasabas.jpgMelissa Stear Gorsline has a wide variety of experience in international commercial litigation and arbitration, with a particular focus on public international law, treaty-based international investment arbitration, and quasi-criminal claims, such as RICO, ATA, TVPA, and ATS. She has experience arbitrating complex matters before the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID), the AAA, and ad hoc tribunals constituted under the UNCITRAL arbitration rules.

Nancy Welsh 

Allison Alcasabas.jpgNancy Welsh is Chair of the American Bar Association Section of Dispute Resolution and a leading scholar and teacher of dispute resolution and procedural law. She is a Professor of Law and the William Trickett Faculty Scholar at Penn State University, Dickinson Law, a Visiting Scholar of the Program on Negotiation at Harvard Law School and a Visiting Fellow of the Institute for Advanced Study at Indiana University-Bloomington.